Laura Gagliardi elected to National Academy of Sciences

Prof. Laura Gagliardi has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) for her distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership in the NAS is considered one of the highest honors a scientist can receive.

Gagliardi is the Richard and Kathy Leventhal Professor in the Department of Chemistry and the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering, with a joint appointment at the James Franck Institute. She is also the Director of the Chicago Center for Theoretical Chemistry and the Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center.

Gagliardi’s research aims to develop novel quantum chemical methods and apply them to study phenomena related to sustainable energies, with special focus on chemical systems relevant to catalysis, spectroscopy, photochemistry, and gas separation.

The National Academy of Sciences was created by Congress in 1863 and charged with providing objective and independent advice to the nation concerning science and technology. Since its founding, academy members have won 500 Nobel Prizes and the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, the Academy’s journal, has become one of the most prestigious international research journals.

Gagliardi is one of five University of Chicago faculty members elected to the Academy this year, joining Profs. Marianne Bertrand, John H.R. Maunsell, Angela V. Olinto, and Olufunmilayo F. Olopade.