Nadya Mason

  • Dean of the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering and the Robert J. Zimmer Professor of Molecular Engineering
  • Research and Scholarly Interests: Quantum Materials, Electronic transport in nanostructures, Superconductivity
  • Contact: nmason1@uchicago.edu
  • Assistant: LaKesha Lloyd
  • Office Location:
    Eckhardt Research Center
    Room 299C
    5640 South Ellis Avenue
    Chicago, IL 60637

Nadya Mason is the dean of the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering (PME) at the University of Chicago and the Robert J. Zimmer Professor of Molecular Engineering. She specializes in experimental studies of quantum materials, with a research focus on the electronic properties of nanoscale and correlated systems, such as nano-scale wires, atomically thin membranes, and nanostructured superconductors. Her research is relevant to applications involving nanoscale and quantum computing elements.

Before becoming dean of PME, Mason was the Rosalyn S. Yalow Professor of Physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where she directed the Illinois Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology and also served as founding director of the Illinois Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (I-MRSEC).

In addition to maintaining a rigorous research program and teaching, Mason works to increase diversity in the physical sciences, particularly through mentoring, and is former chair of the APS Committee on Minorities, where she helped initiate the “National Mentoring Community.” Mason can also be seen promoting science on local TV, at the Chicago Museum of Science and Industry, and in a TED talk on “Scientific Curiosity.”

Mason received her Bachelor of Science from Harvard University and her doctorate from Stanford University, both in physics. Among her many honors, she is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and has been recognized for her work with awards, including the 2024 Robert Holland Jr. Award, the 2019 APS Bouchet Award, 2012 APS Maria Goeppert Mayer Award, and the 2009 Denise Denton Emerging Leader Award.